Award of Merit

Awarded to a person or a group for work that significantly and visibly contributed to the development of women’s soccer in Calgary through their efforts with the CWSA. The award shall be for a specific contribution and shall be measurable.  Nominations will be assessed for their contribution to on-field play and or the advancement of women’s soccer in Calgary through the CWSA. 

Nominations may be made by any CWSA member and directed to the chair of the Awards Committee. The applications will be presented to the Board who will determine the winner(s). The Award of Merit is an annual award, which shall be presented at the Annual General Meeting.  It is not mandatory that the Award of Merit be presented each year.

In the spirit of upholding the integrity of the Award of Merit, please note that the award will only be presented when there is a nominee whose contributions meet the specified criteria. If, after the review process, the Awards Committee determines that no nominee adequately fulfills the criteria, the award will not be presented for that year.


2023  Diogo Raposo, Douglas Ratke, Jessica Whyte

2022  Dick Nyenhuis

2021  Matt Whitehead

2019  Yvonne Northover, Vic Van Leeuwen

2018  Dominic Brodie

2017  Laurence Pan

2016  Jacquie Hertlein

2015  George Al Haddad

2012  Brian Younger, Allan Wanagot

2011  Sally Driscoll, John Rann

2010  Margot MacLean, Debbie Shaw

2009  Laszlo Karasz, Marie Kientz, Cathy Gonzalez

2008  Andy Watts, Mark Tyndale

2007  Sue Green, Chris Green, Bob Johnson

2006  Anne Nakaska, Ann Blackwood

2005  Glen Ellis, Leslie Scullion, Kieran McGarrigle

2004  Al Davies, Sue Vanderwindt, Susan Holt, Scott Mabee, David Duffield

2003  Stephen Broadley, Enric Pequino, Russ Highwo, Pat McMahon

2002  John Rann, Murray Munsie, Robin Slot, Brian Ashley

2001  Novalee Reeves, Lorne Wylie

1999  Milan Bartosz

President's Award

Awarded to an individual deserving of such recognition by the CWSA Board of Directors for either specific or long-term development of women’s soccer within the CWSA.  The contribution should be one that clearly has enhanced the operation of the league and has shown to provide for an improved women’s soccer experience.

Nominations are made by the CWSA President. The CWSA President’s Award is an annual award, which shall be presented at the Annual General Meeting.  It is not mandatory that the President’s Award be presented each year.


2022  Sandy Sangster

2018  Troye Flannery

2017  Mary Jo Spence

2016  Madeleine Loughery

2012  Theresa Lea

2009  Barb Gies

2007  Stephanie O’Neill

2004  Lynda Davies, Brian Ashley

2003  Joanne Mazurkewich

2002  Barb Donaldson

2001  Gerry Shielan

1999  John Fisher

Lifetime Member Award

This award is to be given to an individual for their long-term work within the CWSA in the development, promotion and support in the sport of soccer for women in the City of Calgary and area. In exceptional cases this individual may not have belonged to the CWSA, but has made significant contributions to the Association.  Normally, the awardee will have already been the recipient of one of the previously noted awards (President Award or Award Of Merit).  This individual may have been a player, coach, manager or administrator.

Nominated by any CWSA member to the Awards Committee, nominees will be selected by the Board for this honour. This award allows for life long membership in the league.


2021  Jacquie Hertlein

2019  Theresa Lea

2018  Mary Jo Spence

2010  Pat Ferris

2005  Gord Ramsay, Chris VanTournhout

2004  Kim Chalmers, Bill Roberts

2003  Ann Blackwood, Peter McKenzie

2002  Milan Bartosz, John Fisher


Silver Badge Award

This award is presented to a CWSA referee for demonstrating dedication, loyalty, leadership, and support for other officials.


2023  Robert Jido

2022  Kim Skow

2019  Laurie Darvill

2018  Ron Stephenson   

2017  Bevon Phang

2013  Richard Sansregret

2012  Steve Papp


Other Awards

Alberta Soccer Awards


See Also:

Upcoming Events

Aug. 17, 2024 to Aug. 18, 2024

AMSL Provincials
St Albert

read more »

RAMP Registration

Join thousands of association partners using RAMP Registration Solutions.

More Information

RAMP Official Assigning

#1 with Officials...for very good reasons.

More Information

RAMP Websites

Manage your identity from the palm of your hand to the top of your desk.

More Information

RAMP Team App

Keep your coaches, parents, athletes, and fans connected, seamlessly.

More Information